Bug Forum still super wide

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wentworth

Bear Mears
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
2,685
Reaction score
153
Location
Blue Mtns
There was a thread about this when the site first started up but I can't find it now. The forum is about 1 and a half times too wide for my screen, which means when I read a post, I have to scroll side to side for every sentence. I remember there being suggestions for changing computer settings to fix this, which we did to no avail, but other people were also experiencing the same problem.
This is the only forum I have to scroll side to side so much, and it is my favourite one! Is there any chance of changing the layout slightly?
 

kobold

Lofty Wiseman
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
138
Reaction score
0
Location
melb
what is your horizontal screen resolution and your browser? my laptop screen is 1366 wide and there is plenty of black margin on both sides. most browsers have a zoom in/out feature that you can use to resize the rendered page. also make sure you have scripting enabled in your browser for bushcraftoz.com...
 

Aussie123

Never Alone In The Bush
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 16, 2011
Messages
5,395
Reaction score
535
Location
Melbourne, Victoria
Also worth checking your View settings (if you are using MS Explorer)

View / Text Size = Medium

View / Zoom = 100%

These should be OK for most uses
 

Wentworth

Bear Mears
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
2,685
Reaction score
153
Location
Blue Mtns
The only way I can get it to normal width, like all the other forums is by selecting "default" down the bottom, rather than Bushcraftoz_custom 1.0
But then I lose the banners and everything. Ah well
 

Blake

Nest In the Hills
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
May 2, 2011
Messages
3,686
Reaction score
292
Location
Central West, NSW
Wentworth. Can I have some more info about your computer which will help me look into this.

What browser and browser version you are using?
What operating system?
Also what is your screen resolution set to?
 

Wentworth

Bear Mears
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
2,685
Reaction score
153
Location
Blue Mtns
Hi Blake,
I'm on a mac and am using Safari Version 4.1.3, but I also tried Firefox with the same results.
My operating software is Mac OS X 10.4.11
My resolution says it is 1024 x 768. Is that what you meant by screen resolution?
 

Blake

Nest In the Hills
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
May 2, 2011
Messages
3,686
Reaction score
292
Location
Central West, NSW
Answer regarding forum width issues

Dont listen to him Wentworth! Macs are great.

Thanks for that information thats what I need. Very helpfull in sorting out the issue. The only thing I will confirm with you is are you using the maximum display resolution that your monitor can display?

I have looked into the it and have now knucled down the problem. When I put the forum together I designed it with a set forum width. That is 1200 pixels wide. I did this so that there would be a space or clearing either side of the board. Why? Simply, I thought it looked nice and set the forum apart from others.

The problem with this is by doing this I had to define a set forum with. I looked at our traffic data and found that over 94% of the traffic were using a screen resolution of 1280 pixels or wider. So I used 1200 as my width.

The scolling issue I can understand is annoying and I definatley want everyone to experiance the custom forum theme.

Therefore I have decided to revert the forum width to an automatic width untill the time that the data shows we are no longer reciving traffic with a resolution of 1024 pixels width or less. Which shouldnt be too long as they dont even make monitors this low res anymore. iPads, smart phones and other mobile devices should be unaffected, if not improved.

What does this mean?

This means that the forum will now fit to the edges of your browser like most forums do and no longer display the clear spacing on the sides. I appologise for the members who liked the "look" of this but my first priority is maximum compatibility for all users before asthetics.

Wentworth, please dont worry that this adjustment was because of you. As you mentioned a few other people have had the same problem and I would rather something that works for all members first so I thank you for bringing the issue up again and reminding me.

The only thing that you will probably note is out is the quick links bars at the top of the forum will be bunched up on the right, causing the other links tab to bump down onto a new link. This is because we have added custom link past what the forum was designed to take. At a higher resolution this isnt a problem but at a lower res it simply doesnt have enough space. Im looking into a solution for this at the moment so please bare with me on that.

I would be happy to hear from any members who actually prefer this format for the forum. If many do I will take that into account when considering reverting it back in the future.

Hope this helps

Kind Regards,
Blake
 
Last edited:

Wentworth

Bear Mears
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
2,685
Reaction score
153
Location
Blue Mtns
Wow, I feel bashful now Blake. Thanks so much for the alteration. Yes I was using the highest resolution available for my computer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top