happy fatwood Friday

Wave Man

Pyromaniac
Reaction score
it's my first attempt at forging my own, I didn't like it's length so I fixed it last night and took 3cm off the end of it, much better now.

Forged from a old Nicholson file, sparks almost as well as my best strikers.

Wave Man

Pyromaniac
Reaction score
Happy Fatwood Friday, fatwood supplied by Aussie123 I have to admit I am far better at using a flint and steel than I am at using a ferro rod more practice required obviously.

barra650

Lofty Wiseman
Reaction score
I was knocking down and old fence a couple of years ago and one of the stays broke . Low and behold , a nice seem of fatwood was to had . I still use it to this day . I had a bit of a laugh when you put the flame out .;) We have all done that .

Wave Man

Pyromaniac
Reaction score
yeah it was a doh moment, I nearly re-shot it...LoL But I like everyone to see it warts and all.

I was a bit embarrassed at how long it took to get the fatwood to light, it's really good stuff (it is all gooey with resin) and it should have caught first or second strike with my ferro rod, but I put it down to my incompetents with a ferro rod.

barra650

Lofty Wiseman
Reaction score
yeah it was a doh moment, I nearly re-shot it...LoL But I like everyone to see it warts and all.

I was a bit embarrassed at how long it took to get the fatwood to light, it's really good stuff (it is all gooey with resin) and it should have caught first or second strike with my ferro rod, but I put it down to my incompetents with a ferro rod.
That's OK . I think I posted a couple of weeks ago how it took me 3 times to get a small fire going in the back yard . Then a few days back out bush I used a magnifying glass and had a fire within a minute . Maybe it's just the bio rhythms of the day .

Wave Man

Pyromaniac
Reaction score