'Turn around' navagation.

Bartnmax

Richard Proenneke
Reaction score
Often the newbie starts off when heading 'bush' by learning various ways to take a heading to determine the correct direction he must travel in.
However, in learning & practicing that skill it is often very easy to forget to 'look back' to determine your bearing.
The value of this was highlighted to me many years ago when I first staretd my deer hunting career.

I had been hunting deer in the high country at that stage for about 3 years & was steadilly building my confidence.
The area I was hunting had a track running parallel along a river for many miles on the same side as my camp.
On this occasion I had chosen to hunt across the river, which would entail heading up a ridge on the other side & into the valley beyond.
I crossed early, headed up the ridge & then travelled down t'other side into the valley. I hunted for a number of hours & then decided it was time to head back to camp. On once again cresting the ridge I started heading down my ridge toward the river where I crossed, only to find someone had moved the river & my camp. This was a totally differnet place to where I had crossed that morning.

It was getting late, and the weather had been building from a light drizzle to a steady rain. What to do? Where the hell was I.
Ok, back to basics - sit down for a minute & think. What had happened?
I found myself at the bottom of what I thought was the ridge I had gone up that morning, only to find I had come down a different ridge altogether ,that I had not noticed on the way up, & had consequently hit the river at a completely differnet place.
What to do about it?

My decisions were;
1. Head back up the ridge in the near dark & building rain to try to discover the correct ridge that would lead down to my camp across the river.